FACULTY/STAFF > DEPARTMENTS & OFFICES > LIBRARY > HELP & GUIDES 

Troubleshooting Off-Campus Access
Are you having trouble accessing all library databases or a specific database? 
If it is only one specific database, please let us know (library@rmu.edu or paladino@rmu.edu; usually this is just a temporary issue and we can let you know when everything is 100% again).

Are you having trouble accessing all library databases from off campus?
First, make sure you are utilizing your login only and not your entire Gmail address. Secondly, make sure you are using your Sentry login/password combination and not your Blackboard login/password combination.

Next, do you have a pop-up blocker on? If so, turn off the pop-up blocker in your browser.

Still experiencing access issues? 

RESET or/and SYNCHRONIZE YOUR PASSWORDS
1). Go to www.rmu.edu
2). Select "Login" in the upper right corner
3). Select the link, "Forgot your username or password? Reactivate your account" (located just below the username and password boxes).
4). At the following screen, input the remaining digits of your freedom card number
5). Input your birth date (as in the example on the password reset page).
6). Click "Submit"
7). At the next screen, select a new password. Make sure all three boxes on this page are checked: Sentry Secured Services, Novell, Gmail E-mail.
*Whether or not you are on campus, or using any campus computers, any Windows/Mac or Novell boxes need to be checked; our proxy server (enabling off-campus access) utilizes this login/password component. 
8). Next, wait a full ten minutes, (while you're waiting during that ten minutes, clean out your cache, make sure cookies are enabled, pop up blocker is turned off, and then restart).
9). Then, go to www.rmu.edu again.
10). Select "Library"
11). Select "Databases A-Z"
12). Choose any database. At this point, you should be prompted for your RMU Sentry username and password. Enter your username and new password.

Resetting and synchronizing your username and password should fix most database access problems you are encountering. For the small percentage of users for which this does not seem to resolve off campus access issues, check to see if you may have some settings that may be interfering with the Library's EZProxy system.

CHECK YOUR COMPUTER SETTINGS
1). Clear your cache and cookies
2). Enable cookies
3). If you use an accelerator tool such as Google Accelerator, turn it off.
4). Do not use browsers that come with providers (i.e. AOL). Use Firefox, Internet Explorer, etc.
5). Use a newer browser, (for Internet Explorer, use 6.0 or higher).

CHECK FOR FIREWALL ISSUES
Firewall problems can arise if you are attempting to access RMU eLibrary Databases from your place of work. Many corporate sites have firewall restrictions. In addition, there may be another proxy system established at your workplace that is interfering with EZProxy communication. You may want to submit a request with your employer's IT department to see if the remote firewall can be changed to permit communication using LoginPort 80.

**If you are still experiencing access issues at this point, please let us know!
(bennett@rmu.edu or paladino@rmu.edu or help@rmu.edu).

AS A LAST RESORT, YOU CAN USE VMWare, THE CAMPUS VPN, TO ACCESS LIBRARY DATABASES

Go to RMU Technology & Services web page:
www.rmu.edu/IT

Download and install VMware View.